Posted on Leave a comment

Finalists announced for Morris-sponsored heritage railway award

high speed train

The Heritage Rail Association has announced the finalists for this year’s awards, including one sponsored by Shrewsbury-based Morris Lubricants.

Morris is sponsoring The Coiley Award for Steam Locomotive Engineering, which is awarded for restoration work on a steam locomotive. The finalists are Severn Valley Railway, Bluebell Railway, Dean Forest Locomotive Group and Sittingbourne and Kemsley Light Railway for restoration work. The locomotives in question include a Great Western Railway Hall Class Hagley Hall, a London Brighton and South Coast Railway A1 Class No. 72, as well as a Great Western Railway 5700 Class pannier tank No. 9681.

Another 10 awards are also up for grabs this year, including some new ones, with the entries said to be very strong. The awards go beyond steam locomotion and cover areas like diesel and electric locomotion, rolling stock, youth volunteering, infrastructure, marketing and environmental and business innovation. This year will also feature a new Railway of the Year Award. A panel of 14 judges drawn from prominent figures in the heritage sector will select the winners, which will be announced at the Heritage Rail Association’s award dinner on Saturday, March 11 in Birmingham.

Morris Lubricants has long been a supporter of heritage railways in the UK, as well as a supplier of bespoke products to meet the needs of heritage vehicles, but it also supplies modern products for industry. At TrAchem, we’re proud to include products like the Morris Terralus range of biodegradable lubricants, so call our team to learn more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.